FabFilter User Forum

Pro-Q 3 Suggestion: previous- and next band buttons

Hi there,

Request: I would like to see the bands be numbered from left to right - no matter of the sequence I add them.

Right now I can't imagine somebody is able to use this button and know the order for each EQ instance in the project.

Quoting the manual here:

"Note: When creating new bands, they will be numbered 1, 2, 3 and so on. But when you delete a band, the others won't renumber, in order to ensure that currently written automation in your host still controls the correct band."

I understand what you are saying here - I do not understand, why.

As a programmer I am used to have internal IDs for objects, which are fixed and refered to by other parts of the code - and by interfaces as well. Further there are descriptions/names, which are editable (in this case 1 could turn into 2, if a low cut is added). Ideally this second information is provided to the interface as well.

I do not know how those interfaces are designed here and if you can't change stuff because of the interface design. But it does not feel like the "FabFilter-way" right know. May be there is a way to change things?

Best regards and keep up the good work,
NK

NK

I’m guessing here, but I think this is due to automation... if you automate one band, then add another but the number changes, this will screw up your automation. Or, if you would have different id’s only in the GUI, make you guess which band you have been automating.

Bram

At least in VST2 an automation parameter is remembered by its index, not an id. Reordering/adding new parameter in between is therefore not possible and would mess up all automation data.
It would be very confusing having a band reordered/renamed to #3 in the interface, but its automation is still the parameter for band #7.

Danny

Seems like both of you are right about the lack of internal IDs in VST2.

VST3 is providing this feature - as long as the information an KVR is right.