FabFilter User Forum

Problem with linear phase in Pro Q2

Hi, I'm a proud owner of Pro Q and I was really hoping to make the upgrade to Pro Q2.

I use Pro Q for the majority of my traditional eq work, but what makes it especially useful for me are the totally transparent linear phase "low cut" and "hi cut" filters, which i use to create custom multiband processes.

To test the filters, I place identical files on three tracks in my DAW. Track A has a "low cut" at 1k, Track B has a "hi cut" at 1k, and Track C is phase reversed. With Pro Q they phase out completely. With Pro Q2 there is a lot of residual. I've triple checked to make sure Track A and Track B have the same frequency, gain, and q values.

Is this a bug? Is there a different linear phase process in Pro Q2? Or am I missing something?

Brent

I can reproduce this easily. I've tried with a 1kHz xover freq, 24 dB/oct filters, Q=1, linear phase max.

SPAN shows the residual spectrum as follows:

• Q: a notch at 1kHz, a maximum at around 2 kHz with a max level around -102 dB or so.
  • Q2: a "mountain shaped" spectrum, max at 1kHz with a level around -42 dB (perfectly audible).
  • Q2 with Q lowered to 0.707: interestingly things improve and the spectrum shape looks more like the one in Q, notch at 1kHz, max. at around 2kHz with a level around -66 dB or so. Better but still audible.

Maybe there's something about the way the Q value is translated to the filter shape in 1 and 2?

Cabirio

Ok, further investigation reveals some significant differences between Q1 and Q2.