FabFilter User Forum

Preamp Processing with FabFilter Saturn

So after years of stacking plugins and tweaking eq settings without being able to get my vocals sounding like I would like them, I inserted a free plugin, the Acustica Audio AcquaVox, and was completely blown away. One little plugin with 4 knobs suddenly made my vocals awesome. With a little research I discovered this plugin is an emulation of the tube preamp section of the Manley Voxbox, which is basically your top tier goto vocal preamp and will set you back about $4000 USD.

The plugin requires a lot of headroom, and prefers an input signal at or under -18db. If your signal is a bit too hot the beautifying effects of the plugin won't be all that evident, and if the signal is very hot you will likely get some distortion in the low frequencies. Anyway, with the right signal input the results are very subtle but outrageously wonderful. I'm not good at describing this sort of thing, but it removes everything in my vocals that sounds awful, maybe this is from rounding of the transients. It just makes everything sound smooth, like no equalization is necessary after the fact. The low mids become sort of smooth and creamy, just totally delicious. Then the highs have a very subtle sort of sheen to them.

The plugin has a couple drawbacks however. One, it has crazy high latency, like no other plugin of any sort I have used. Two, since it was created with convolution from an actual Manley Voxbox, it can't really be tailored. It's a picture of the effect a specific machine has on an audio signal.