FabFilter User Forum

Workflow Enhancement Suggestion

Hi,

I've got all FF plugins, love the sound of them and they are by far the most used plugins i own.

I honestly only have one issue with the plugins, and that is workflow based.

I would absolutely love if it was possible to select a secondary mode in each plugin where the values of different parameters jump in increments/decrements of say 0.25 instead of 0.01. I spent way to much time on completely indifferent ie. EQ decisions way too early in the process of making a track because the precision is simply to high.

Hear me out, I absolutely think precision should be the default mode. FF plugins are precision plugins. BUT, if during the production phase I could turn on - let's call it - "Stepped Mode" it would save me loads of unnecessary work. The human brain is fascinating. I'm a producer as much as I'm a mixer, but when I use FF plugins I mostly become a mixer because of the precision and therefore number of decisions I have to make - does that make sense? And everyone knows that it is very counterproductive to switch mode from being a writer/producer to a mixer while you're actually writing a song. If during songwriting I could turn on "Stepped Mode" and then later when I mix and possible need more surgical precision could turn it off again, that would be the perfect setup.

Here's what a good "Stepped Mode" would do:

ProQ-2
The frequency would jump 5 hz pr increment/decrement.
The gain would jump 0.25 db pr increment/decrement.
The Q would jump 0.25 pr increment/decrement.

ProC-2
Threshold jumps 0.25 db pr increment/decrement.
Ratio jump 0.25 pr pr increment/decrement.
Attact jumps 0.25 ms pr increment/decrement.
Release jump 5 ms pr increment/decrement.

And so on...

This is not about making FF plugins better but making them more usable for...
1) People like me who are both involved in writing/producing/mixing.
2) Users who are just getting to know your plugins.