FabFilter User Forum

Engineering and Mixing

I am just looking for a good site to go and ask questions and get help leaning the best ways to engineering and mix. I am 53 and have been trying to teach myself for sometime now and still really don't have a clue.

I am wondering if and where I would find things like cheat sheets telling general EQ frequencies used in a mix, ie, kick, bass, acoustic guitar, vocals, etc,

Right now I am working on recording my daughter play piano (Yamaha U3) getting the best sound and mix of the piano. Then in a song or two adding her voice in to the mix, getting that to fit and sound right. I also record some acoustic guitar fro time-to-time. That's about all I will ever be doing. but after years of watching how to videos and reading, I still don't have any ideas of the right way to do things.

Thanks,
John

John Zapf

I'm an novice too.
I would try to get a few good books.
Youtube tutorials.
Other tutorials u can find in the interweb.
And best is if u can get some kind of mentor.

Jay

For mixing, you might want to get law multi-tracks.
There is several mixing sites or mixing contests, so you can get multi-tracks of a song to practice.
Only way to make better mixing is mix a lot of songs.
But don't forget to imagine your ideal sound.
Without that you won't get your sound.

I think your recording situation like acoustic-style doesn't need much effects. Even if with no-fx, it's possible to make great recordings.
Maybe tracking is most important, though there is totally no rules.
Try thousand times, you'll get right sound :)

Hope you'll make fine recordings!

KJP

I guess no FX is one way to go.
But also in acoustic.
I think the right FX used in the right time would be great.
Thinking aboud Reverb, Delay, Compression, EQ, and Dynamic EQ.
If used subtile i bet u can make it sound better.

But it is an artitic and monetary choise.

Jay

Like KJP said "...don't forget to imagine your ideal sound"...